Meet the Board

The Community Foundation Board members serve without pay and represent the population of our region. They are community leaders who are involved in numerous organizations and live across all parts of southern Illinois.


Byram Fager

Byram is a Business Administration Manager at AEP's Cook Coal Terminal in Metropolis, IL. Byram and his family lives in Metropolis. Fager says, "Community Foundations are such a wonderful way to provide long-term support for every kind of organization. The Foundation allows for support today, tomorrow and forever."

Vice President

Kay Weatherford

Kay Weatherford is retired from the Migrant Education, Inc. in Cobden.  Kay and her husband live in Carbondale.


John Daly

John is a CPA and an attorney. He and his young family live in Carbondale. Daly says, "I serve and support the Community Foundation because it keeps charitable gifts close to home, for the exclusive use of our local communities."


Margaret "Maggie" Flanagan

Margaret "Maggie" Flanagan is a founding board member of SICF and its first Executive Director.  She is owner of Development Specialties, a consulting firm serving organizations with internal capacity building.  Maggie and her husband Raymond own Bella Vista, a guest house and organic vineyard set on 90 acres in the Shawnee Forest. Maggie says "Community Foundations help keep philanthropy local by growing funds and leadership to serve our communities forever."


Jason Ashmore

Jason Ashmore is the Mayor of his hometown of Sesser.  He has previously worked for IDOT and the Secretary of State’s Office.  He enjoys hunting, various charities, fundraising, and political involvement. Serving the public is his passion.  He says “Southern Illinois has so many needs with the high poverty and unemployment rate and SICF provides much needed funds for the communities of southern Illinois.”


Joe Benberry

Joe Benberry lives in Paducah with his wife Tiffany.  He is the current Pastor of Mt. Horeb in Metropolis.  He is retired from the UASF as a licensed Registered Nurse, also serving as a combat medic during the Iraq War.  He was the Associate Chief Nurse at the Department of Veteran Affairs in Marion.  Joe is on the executive committee of the Massac and Pope Counties Recovery Committee, which has partnered with SICF, American Red Cross and other organizations for the recovery from the November 11, 2015 tornado.


Larry Busch

Larry is a retired professor of industrial design at SIUC. He is a 40+ year resident of southern Illinois and often enjoys its beauty on the back of a motorcycle or from the hull of a kayak.


Steve Cook

Steve Cook is Community Bank President at Farmers State Bank in Marion.  He is a lifelong resident of Marion, where he resides with his wife and four sons.  Cook says, “The great thing about SICF is that the focus is close to home on a variety of philanthropic levels, people can help our communities in areas they would like to make a difference.”


Martin Rowe

Martin Rowe is the President and CEO of First Eldorado Bancshares.  He and his family live in Harrisburg.  He is involved with several charitable and civic organizations.  Rowe states “I really like the flexibility and ease of the use of our community foundation can offer.  Individual donors get the benefit of making tax deductible contribution to an accredited 501(c) 3 with as large or small of a contribution they are comfortable with, while at the same time having flexibility to support the charitable causes that are near and dear to them.”


Brandon Zanotti

Brandon Zanotti is the Williamson County State’s Attorney.  He lives in Johnston City. 

Southern Illinois Community Foundation, through its board members and donors is strengthening the region's quality of life by:

  • Building "community capital" – for today and tomorrow
  • Enhancing the region's quality of life
  • Engaging people and organizations in philanthropy
  • Convening, planning and working for positive change
  • Supporting and launching new initiatives

Thank our Alumni who have dedicated time to serve on the SICF Board.  All of Southern Illinois has benefited from you leadership!

Patricia Bauer
Bill Bonan, II
Jack Buckley, Jr.
Eric Dirnbeck
Dennis DeRossett
John Gardner
Adrienne Barkley Giffin
Ralph Graham
Jerry Hickam
Don Knight
Linda Lindus
Allan Patton
Beth Pounce
Rosslind Rice
Peter Ruger
Greg Sprehe
Gene Watson
Gail West

Southern Illinois Community Foundation
3000 W. DeYoung St., Suite 800B
Marion, IL 62959

Phone : 618.997.3700


© Southern Illinois Community Foundation